45 Years Allright Norfolk Terrier


Allright Norfolk Terriers have been around since 1976 - it all started with the dark red bitch Ickworth Penny Ha' Penny (called Gipsy) from England.

Coming from the rough-coated Dachshunds that accompanied my childhood and whose humour and independence always inspired me, I also found some of their typical characteristics in Norfolk Terriers, which can also be little "terrier terrorists" if they are not trained properly, but are not quite as stubborn as dachshunds. Gipsy won my heart very quickly and I decided to breed these dogs, which was still completely unknown in Germany at the time, and to publicise it.

In contrast to the slender, elongated build of the Dachshund, the Norfolk is a short, compact and strongly built dog, but just as small as the Standard Dachshund. The Norfolk fits into a bicycle basket, a travelling bag, a rucksack or a small corner in the car - which means you can easily take him with you.


Gipsy (Penny Ha' Penny)
And yet it is a real dog, goes for long walks, loves to romp around in the great outdoors and play with its mates. You can also do agility, dog dancing, the companion dog test or even the tracking dog test with him if you invest enough time in training. All this was ideal for me when I was a student, because this little dog fitted into my student digs and I was still able to pursue my hobbies, the various branches of dog sport. I soon became interested in dog shows, a completely different kind of dog sport, but with its own charms, which can be very captivating once you really understand the subject!


Visiting Sweden

So I started breeding Norfolk Terriers in 1976, tried to learn as much as possible from experienced breeders in England, the breed's country of origin, and built up my breeding programme on Gipsy and a few other imports that followed later.

Today, Allright Norfolk Terriers can be found in various countries around the world, have helped to establish many breeding programmes, have achieved countless national and international successes and are a household name in the terrier world. But the most important thing for me is still the joy they give me in my daily life.

Dr. Frauke Hinsch

Wir haben zur Zeit ein paar ältere Norfolks abzugeben.

45 Jahre Allright Norfolk Terrier


Allright Norfolk Terrier gibt es seit 1976 – es begann alles mit der dunkelroten Hündin Ickworth Penny Ha’ Penny (Gipsy genannt) aus England.

Von den Rauhhaarteckeln kommend, die meine Kindheit begleitet haben, und deren Humor und Eigenständigkeit mich immer begeisterten, fand ich manche ihrer typischen Eigenschaften auch in den Norfolk Terriern, die zwar durchaus auch kleine "Terrier-Terroristen" sein können wenn man sie nicht richtig erzieht, aber nicht ganz so stur wie Teckel sind. Gipsy eroberte mein Herz sehr schnell, und ich beschloss, diese damals in Deutschland noch völlig unbekannte Rasse zu züchten und bekannt zu machen.

Im Gegensatz zum schlanken langgestreckten Körperbau des Teckels ist der Norfolk ein kurzer, kompakter und kräftig gebauter Hund, dabei ebenso klein wie der Standardteckel. Er paßt ins Fahrradkörbchen, in die Reisetasche, in den Rucksack oder eine kleine Ecke im Auto – das heißt man kann ihn gut mitnehmen.


Gipsy (Penny Ha' Penny)
Und trotzdem ist er ein richtiger Hund, macht lange Spaziergänge mit, tollt gerne in der freien Natur herum und spielt mit seinen Kumpeln. Auch Agility, Dog Dancing, Begleithunde- oder sogar die Fährtenhundprüfung kann man mit ihm machen, wenn man genug Zeit in das Training investiert. Das alles war für mich in meiner Studentenzeit ideal, denn dieser kleine Hund paßte in meine Studentenbude und trotzdem konnte ich meine Hobbies, die verschiedenen Sparten des Hundesportes, mit ihm machen. Schnell kam dazu das Ausstellungswesen, eine ganz andere Art von Hundesport, aber mit eigenen Reizen, die einen schon sehr in ihren Bann ziehen können, wenn man die Materie einmal richtig verstanden hat!

Auf Besuch in Schweden

So begann ich dann 1976 Norfolk Terrier zu züchten, versuchte in England, dem Ursprungsland der Rasse, so viel wie möglich von erfahrenen Züchtern zu lernen, und habe auf Gipsy und einigen weiteren Importen, die später folgten, meine Zucht aufgebaut.

Heute sind Allright Norfolk Terrier in vielen Ländern der Welt zu finden, haben beim Aufbau mancher Zucht mitgewirkt, ungezählte nationale und internationale Erfolge errungen und sind ein Begriff in der Terrierwelt. Das Wichtigste ist mir aber nach wie vor die Freude, die sie mir im täglichen Zusammenleben bereiten.

Dr. Frauke Hinsch